The Northwest Indiana Steelheaders Inc. is a non-profit organization.
 We are dedicated to educating the general public and promoting anadromous sport fishing in the Great Lakes and their tributary streams and rivers..

Rich Hedgepeth  President
Mike Ryan  Vice President
Jean Hedgepeth, Secretary
Janet Ryan, Treasurer


Gary Heminger        2019
Gene Cerniak           2018
Walt Stepankow       2019
Ron Kasza                2018
Mike Hayman           2018
Bernie Hayman        2019
Roque Ybarra           2018
Mary Ryba                 2019
Rich Racine              2019

Newsletter  PDF Writer
Jean Hedgepeth

Membership Chairman
Bill Burket
All Membership Questions & NWIS Property Acess should be directed to the Membership Chairman

Web Master
Jean Hedgepeth

April 5,2017
- General Meeting Speaker Todd Hatfield
Owner/Head Guide at Trail Creek Guide Service
April 23, 2017- Spring  Stream Clean-Up with Trail Creek  Guide Service 8:oo a.m. April 23 Meet at  Trail Creek Forks (20) in Michigan City

May 3, 2017 - General Meeting Speaker Brian Breidert, DNR Biologist

June No General Meeting

June 3rd,2017   Fishing Fun Day  June 3rd  at Luhr Park 3178 S. County Road 150WLaPorte, Indiana
 9:00 a.m. to  11:00a.m. Meet at Christos Restaurant  1462 W State Road 2, Laporte, IN 46350
  at 7 a.m.. for breakfast or meet us at the park!

July 1, & 2, 2017
- Skamania Mania

August  No General Meeting

September  6, Resume General Meetings Speaker TBA

July 1st  & 2nd 2017        MICHIGAN CITY, INDIANA
 Contest Rules

                "All you have to do is go fish"

Skamania Mania is free and open to the public. There is no pre- registration. All you have to do is go fish and be lucky enough to land a steelhead.
1.        Contest time is 12:01 a.m. July 1, 2017 through 3 p.m., July 2, 2017.
2.        Fish must be weighed in at Northwest Indiana Steelheader's tent on the South side of the Michigan City Harbor by the DNR. The weigh-in will be open from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. each day. Any fish not at the weigh-in station by 3 p.m. on July 2nd will be ineligible.

                               3. Cabela's  gift cards will be presented to the anglers catching the twelve
(12) largest steelhead over the two days. First place will receive a $200 card, second $50, third through 12th place will receive $25 cards. The 13th best steelhead will receive a $200 rod and reel. If a tie, the first fish weighed will receive the highest prize. Only one Top 13 prize per angler for the two days.
                     4. A free Cabela's gift will be awarded to the first 50 anglers donating a steelhead to be
                         Processed and served at the Wild Game Cookout during the Indiana State Fair.
                                 5. Contest waters are all of Lake Michigan and all Lake Michigan tributaries.
                                 6. All steelhead are subject to inspection for foul-hook marks, freshness, etc. and 
                                                   may  be disallowed at the discretion of the contest judges                                                                                              
                                 7. In case of dispute, the decision of the contest judges is final

              * For more information on Skamania Mania 2017, see
   or contact

Silver Carp Found Nine Miles from Lake Michigan
CHICAGO, IL – The Illinois Department of Natural Resources and the Asian Carp Regional Coordinating Committee (ACRCC) today announced the preliminary finding of 1 silver carp in the Illinois Waterway below T.J. O’Brien Lock and Dam, approximately nine miles away from Lake Michigan. The fish was captured with a gill net by a contracted commercial fisher the morning of June 22 as part of the ACRCC Monitoring Response Work Group’s seasonal intensive monitoring event. The silver carp was 28 inches in length and weighed approximately 8 pounds. The fish has been sent to Southern Illinois University for additional analysis.
The silver carp find triggers two additional weeks of intense sampling in the area, as outlined in the ACRCC’s Contingency Response Plan. It is important to note that this preliminary finding does not confirm that a reproducing population of Asian carp currently exists above the electric dispersal barriers or within the Great Lakes. In eight consecutive years of intensive monitoring and fish sampling in the Chicago Area Waterway System, this is the second time a bighead or silver carp has been found above the electric dispersal barriers. A bighead carp was found in Lake Calumet in 2010.
The Illinois Department of Natural Resources and the Asian Carp Regional Coordinating Committee are committed to keeping you informed as we learn more about the captured silver carp and continue our sampling efforts in the Illinois Waterway
Here  the PDF sent by  Jay Wesley (DNR) to Mike Ryan. CLICK HERE